cicada buzz-saw

26Jul05

So I woke up yesterday morning wondering why my alarm was so quiet. It took me a few seconds, but then I realized that the only reason the alarm sounded quiet was because the cicadas had gotten so loud that there was actually the danger that they might drown out the sound of the alarm. It’s a lucky thing that cicada singing acts as a kind of wave machine for me, because some of these cicadas are so loud that they sound like mini buzz-saws. Right now, in my backyard alone, there are exactly 837 cicada nymph exoskeletons to be found in various poses and styles.

No Responses Yet to “cicada buzz-saw”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

