typhoon

02Sep05

I’m back in the United States for the time being, and will be posting only sporadically. This is true of photos as well — expect an enormous freefall of photos and posts when I get back. In the meantime, here’s an account of my bus ride to the airport. Of course, soon after I arrived at KIX the weather cleared up and I flew out into a beautiful clear sky.

25 August, 2005. My trip to Kansai International took me through the edge of a typhoon. The wind was already strong enough to knock most of the bicycles over at Osaka Daigaku, which made them look like grey and helpless insects. On the bus ride to KIX I could see the branches of trees, flexing in all possible directions in the unpredictable wind. Nearer to the airport, the LED signs began to appear with pictures of high winds and buses toppling over. By the time the bus was headed across the final bridge to KIX (which is located on an artificial island in the middle of Osaka Bay) the bus was drifting back and forth through its lane while the wind pushed it around, paperweight.

No Responses Yet to “typhoon”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

