ueno koen: kaneiji

13Mar06

Well, it was a dark and gloomy day in Ueno Koen, as I’m sure you can tell from the photographs, and somehow while I was looking for Kaneiji I managed to get lost in the incredibly enormous Yanaka Cemetary. I’m not sure, but I also kind of got the feeling that maybe I wasn’t supposed to be there, since there was nobody else there, and since I had to cross a “do not enter” type sign on my way out. It was raining lightly and I was in a field of tombstones and, rising into the skyline from across the Keisei-line tracks, there was a field of love hotels. Including one called “Sweet Heavens,” or something else deeply ironic like that. I finally made my way to the Kaneiji Komponchudo hall only to find that it was closed for the day.

Red-bibbed jizo-sama at Kaneiji.

No Responses Yet to “ueno koen: kaneiji”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

