Street art in Clarion Alley

15Mar07

Hanging out with Tessa and Leon has reminded me of my summer 2006 visit to San Francisco. They were not only nice enough to let me sleep contentedly on their enormous and loungy sofa and take me out to dinner at a very delicious Cuban restaurant, but they also take care of my orchid (it even keeps blooming). One day, while Tessa was at work, Leon and I decided to stroll through the Mission District to check out the street art. Mission area street art ranges from acres of walls that are crawling with the minute squiggles of intricate tags to city-commissioned murals that were part of the 1970s revival of community-based artworks, inspired primarily by the work of the Mexican muralistas (Diego Rivera, David Siqueiros, and José Orozco are the most famous figures associated with this movement). Mission street art is now closely linked to an aesthetic that has become known as the Mission School, and many of the works in San Francisco’s famous Clarion Alley are linked to this group of artists. Almost all, though not all, of the work pictured below can be seen in Clarion Alley.



4 Responses to “Street art in Clarion Alley”

  1. 1 K

    These are totally beautiful! I like the variety–the little skull one is fun.

  2. 2 Trane DeVore

    Thanks Karen — the little skull is my secret favorite too.

  3. 3 Foxe

    great post and great pictures…
    greetings from Bulgaria!
    take care!

  4. 4 Trane DeVore

    Thanks foxe — nice to hear from Bulgaria! I wish I could read your blog, because it looks interesting, but Bulgarian is simply beyond my capabilities.


Leave a Reply

