blossom blizzard

26Apr10

Photo information, by order of appearance, including camera, lens, and film type:

1) Voigtlander Bessa-L, 15mm Heliar, uncertain film type.

2) Voigtlander Bessa R2A, 35mm Ultron, Kodak T-Max 400.

3) Voigtlander Bessa-T, 50mm Nokton, Fujifilm Provia 100.

4) LOMO LC-A+, Fujifilm Natura 1600.

5) Voigtlander Bessa R2A, 75mm Color-Heliar, unknown film.

6) Voigtlander Bessa R2A, 35mm Ultron, Kodak P3200.

7) Voigtlander Bessa-L, 15mm Heliar, uncertain film type.



5 Responses to “blossom blizzard”

  1. Never gets tired, does it…

    … I can go the rest of the year without taking a single flower photo, but I go nuts when the blossoms come out….

    What do you think about Sakura as a metaphor?

    http://www.livesofteachers.com/2010/04/08/sakura/

    • 2 Trane DeVore

      I think that depends which sakura metaphor we’re talking about. I used to enjoy sakura season in terms of the metaphor of ‘perpetual renewal’ — probably because of the seasonal closeness between blossom season and the beginning of the new school year. As time has passed, however, at least a part of me has moved over to an experience of incredible melancholy as well. A colleague and I were talking about sakura one year and he said that the season makes him sad because he thinks of all the people who he’ll never see again, and all the experiences that he’s had that have disappeared into the past. This year, more than most, that’s the feeling that I’m having — probably because I’ll be leaving Osaka after one more year and, depending on the weather, may have just experienced my last hanami season in Japan (at least as far as this particular stint is concerned).

      On the other hand, I do like the philosophical relationship between the idea of the delicate transience of life and that old chestnut, “One life, one meeting.” (Insert joke here about faculty meetings in Japan taking a lifetime to come to a conclusion.) I also love the subtheme of madness and chaotic enchantment under the blossoms. It’s as if, for a brief period, fox possession gets replaced by blossom possession.

      • 3 Darren

        I suppose the thought of moving on puts a fresh twist on an old metaphor.. I still see it as a renewal metaphor, in relation to the new academic year, and as someone who is fairly fixed in location and lifestyle I need to see my surroundings change around me, rather than changing my surroundings through my own volition. The sakura allows me to find the change, and is a part of the constant reinvigoration process which I think is vital for teachers.

        I used to travel, now I let change travel to me.

  2. 4 Miranda

    Lovely, lovely. I especially like the black and white photographs :)

    • 5 Trane DeVore

      I’m glad you like these shots, and especially glad that you especially like the black and whites, which are really my favorites as well. Many of these shots were taken at or near the university where I teach. During blossom season I usually just carry a camera around with me and snap whenever I see something I like, rather than going out to the famous blossom sites where all of the crowds are. I just happened to have some black and white in the camera one night while walking back from campus and took several shots while walking through the streetlight-illuminated trees.


Leave a Reply

