lose this skin

01Nov10

Come with me, I won’t hide
We’ll go away on a ride
We’ll meet each day, use time to see
While we’re young and almost free

I’ve got to lose this skin
I’m imprisoned in
Gotta lose this skin
I’m imprisoned in

Do not turn, or hate to see
All the things you think we’ve got
Do not turn, or hate to see
What happened to the wife of Lot?

We’re alone, so they say
We’re not on our own in that way
When we’re alone it’s real tough going
We tend to take a part in someone else’s play

Come with me, I thought he said
But that’s not him anymore, he’s dead
What’s it like to be so free?
So free it looks like lost to me

I’ve got to lose this skin
I’m imprisoned in
Gotta lose this skin
I’m imprisoned in

— Tymon Dogg and The Clash, “Lose This Skin”



2 Responses to “lose this skin”

  1. Love this! And if the images weren’t enough (especially on All Hallows/All Saints/All Souls), you’ve added the Clash & “Lose This Skin.” So, so, so, so good. Thank you, Mr. DeVore.

    • 2 Trane DeVore

      Well, to tell you the truth I wasn’t thinking of Halloween at all when I uploaded this, but you’re right that this ends up fitting perfectly — especially if you think of the process of putting on a costume as a kind of shedding of identity, of the everyday skin that we’re locked inside. I also like the idea that the transformation of the cicada from one state to another is like a crossing over into another world, the very idea that hides behind the contemporary celebration of All Hallows, obscured and silent but still always showing through the cracks just a little bit.


Leave a Reply

