in which i have become that proverbial chicken

23Jul17

Famichiki-senpai is HOT! HOT!

There’s no doubt that I’m in the middle of one of the busiest phases of my life right now. I’m not only teaching my full load of classes and an extra creative writing class at another university on top of that, but I’m also smack in the middle of a job search while also preparing for a week-long summer intensive course on Moby-Dick, which I’ll be teaching in late August. I have become the proverbial chicken with its head cut off, a condition perhaps best visualized by the faceless fried chicken cutlet featured above. The anthropomorphized cutlet, whose name is Famichiki-senpai (ファミチキ先輩), perfectly represents not only the headless chicken-ness of the proverb, but adds to it by adding a dash of deep frying, perhaps taken from that old saw about “Out of the frying pan and into the fire,” though I suppose that in this case “into the fryer” might be a more appropriate phrase.

No Responses Yet to “in which i have become that proverbial chicken”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

